Maui County at-a-glance

Resident Population

164,836 (11% of the state’s population)

Labor force

87,750 (as of July 2022)

County Seat

Wailuku, Maui

The County of Maui encompasses five islands, three that are populated – Maui, Moloka’i and Lāna’i – plus Kaho‘olawe and the islet of Molokini. Collectively, they are known as Maui Nui (“Greater Maui”). It is the second largest county in the State of Hawai’i by land area, and the third largest by population. Maui Nui is a unique blend of its geography, multicultural history, community characteristics, and island values. It is abundant in natural wonders, from the 10,023-foot summit of Haleakalā to more than 200 collective miles of coastline, and everything in between. Maui Nui is renowned for its world-class resorts and attractions, historic and cultural treasures, deep agricultural roots, and memorable experiences from artistic to culinary, sporting to spas, for couples and families, indoors and out. A lively entrepreneurial spirit resides here, along with amazing creative talent, and passionate people devoted to strengthening Maui Nui’s communities and environment. Generations of residents have said Maui no ka oi (“Maui is the best”). We wholeheartedly agree.

Explore the Islands

Maui County Economy

The County of Maui Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (2022) offers an in-depth look at Maui Nui’s economic drivers, challenges, opportunities, priorities, and strategies. Developed with extensive input from hundreds of community members representing a diverse range of communities and sectors, the report outlines an economic roadmap for Maui Nui across multiple economic and geographic clusters.

Learn More